Databases

The Library purchases subscriptions to over 50 online resources to provide you with reliable information on a variety of topics.

Classic Reference | Consumer Information | Reading & Streaming | Homework Help & Test Prep | How-To & DIY | Job Hunting & Careers | Just for Kids | Language Learning | Library Catalogs | Local History & Genealogy | Local Interest | Magazine & Newspaper Articles

By using these services, you may be subject to their individual Terms of Service. If you have any questions about this, please contact us at reference@urbanafree.org.

Featured

  • Chilton Library - Car repair, maintenance and service information. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks.
  • Creativebug - Creativebug is your go-to resource for high-quality, on-trend arts and crafts instructional videos.
  • Government Support Index- Provides detailed information on all federal domestic programs offering financial and non-financial assistance.This resource also provides updated information on programs created by the CARES Act. Referred to as “phase III” of the federal government relief, the CARES Act is the relief bill providing financial assistance to individuals, businesses, and the health care system.
  • Mango Languages - Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages
  • Newspapers.com - World Collection (by Ancestry) - The largest online newspaper archive. 12,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month.
  • Oxford English Dictionary - The definitive record of the English language
  • The New York Times - News articles and more from one of America’s leading newspapers

 

Classic Reference

  • EBSCO MasterFILE Premier - Full-text for nearly 1,700 periodicals, 1975-present
  • Explora - Provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.
  • Explora Educator's Edition - Provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books, including teacher and student tools.
  • Government Support Index- Provides detailed information on all federal domestic programs offering financial and non-financial assistance.This resource also provides updated information on programs created by the CARES Act. Referred to as “phase III” of the federal government relief, the CARES Act is the relief bill providing financial assistance to individuals, businesses, and the health care system.
  • LinkedIn Learning - Formerly known as Lynda.com. Over 6,000 online courses in business, technology, and creative skills. Available on computer, tablet, or smartphone
  • Newsbank - A comprehensive news collection that is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international levels
  • Science Reference Center - Full-text for nearly 640 science reference works

 

Consumer Information

  • ALLDATA Online - Car repair, diagnostics and repair, diagrams, technical service bulletins [in-library use only]
  • Chilton Library - Car repair, maintenance and service information. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks.
  • ConsumerReports.org - Ratings, reviews, buying advice

 

Reading & Streaming

  • Overdrive / Digital Library using the Libby app - Download eBooks and audiobooks, and digital magazines (previously available through RBdigital). Thousands of titles are available to read on your computer, eReader, tablet, smart phone, mp3 player or other device.
  • Hoopla - Download audiobooks and eBooks Offers eBooks, audiobooks, comics/graphic novels, movies, TV show episodes, and music albums. No hold lists!
  • Kanopy- Streaming video service that specializes in award-winning documentaries, rare and hard-to-find titles, film festival favorites, indie and classic films, world cinema, and a wide array of foreign language films and films on social issues and current affairs.
  • NoveList Plus - Fiction and nonfiction booklists, what to read next
  • NoveList K-8 Plus - Fiction and nonfiction booklists, what to read next, grades K-8
  • Red Clover Reader - Allows you to read online with friends and family across the globe. See your reading partner face to face, turn the pages of the same book, circle words, point to a picture or share a doodle no matter how far apart you are. Choose from a unique selection of fun stories focusing on diversity, social-emotional learning and inclusion.
  • TumbleBooks - Animated, read-along, and audio books (picture, early reader and advance reader) in English, Spanish and French. Also included are National Geographic videos, puzzles and games in all three languages.

 

Homework Help & Test Prep

  • Driving-tests.org - Free, state-specific DMV practice tests that are just like the real thing.
  • Early World of Learning - Early World of Learning is geared for emergent and beginning readers with Read-Aloud Books in English and in Spanish, Print and Do Activities, a wide variety of videos and easily navigable games that reinforce reading comprehension. Early World of Learning is iPad Optimized for a fun on the go app.
  • EBSCO MasterFILE Premier - Full-text for nearly 1,700 periodicals, 1975-present
  • Explora - Provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books.
  • Explora Educator's Edition - Provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books, including teacher and student tools.
  • ProCitizen - English | Spanish - ProCitizen is an online course to prepare New Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test, and includes 100 instructional videos in both English & Spanish.
  • Peterson's Test and Career Prep - Peterson's Test and Career Prep is a valuable online tool for standardized test preparation, researching undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring careers. Community members can even pursue new career paths with test prep assistance for career certification exams and gain advice on resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking.
  • Science Reference Center - Full-text for nearly 640 science reference works
  • World Book Kids - Kids features easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.
  • World Book Student - Tailored for students in middle school, World Book Student includes all the articles from the print versions of the World Book Encyclopedia plus 10,000 biographies, learning resources, and research tools.

 

How-To & DIY

  • ALLDATA Online - Car repair, diagnostics and repair, diagrams, technical service bulletins [in-library use only]
  • Chilton Library - Car repair, maintenance and service information. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks.
  • Creativebug - Creativebug is your go-to resource for high-quality, on-trend arts and crafts instructional videos.
  • LinkedIn Learning - Formerly known as Lynda.com. Over 6,000 online courses in business, technology, and creative skills. Available on computer, tablet, or smartphone

 

Job Hunting & Careers

  • Illinois JobLink - Illinois Dept of Employment Security, matches employers and job seekers
  • Indeed.com - Free service to job seekers where you can upload a resume, create job alert emails, search for jobs, save them and apply to them directly
  • Peterson's Test and Career Prep - Explore career paths with test prep assistance for career certification exams and gain advice on resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking.
  • State of Illinois Employment Opportunities - Job postings, application procedures, examination schedules, and more

 

Just for Kids

  • Early World of Learning - Early World of Learning is geared for emergent and beginning readers with Read-Aloud Books in English and in Spanish, Print and Do Activities, a wide variety of videos and easily navigable games that reinforce reading comprehension. Early World of Learning is iPad Optimized for a fun on the go app.
  • NoveList K-8 Plus - Fiction and nonfiction booklists, what to read next, grades K-8
  • Red Clover Reader - Allows you to read online with friends and family across the globe. See your reading partner face to face, turn the pages of the same book, circle words, point to a picture or share a doodle no matter how far apart you are. Choose from a unique selection of fun stories focusing on diversity, social-emotional learning and inclusion.
  • TumbleBooks - Animated, read-along, and audio books (picture, early reader and advance reader) in English, Spanish and French. Also included are National Geographic videos, puzzles and games in all three languages.
  • World Book Kids - Kids features easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.
  • World Book Student - Tailored for students in middle school, World Book Student includes all the articles from the print versions of the World Book Encyclopedia plus 10,000 biographies, learning resources, and research tools.

 

Language Learning

  • Mango Languages - Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages
  • Pronunciator - Offers fun and easy language-learning courses in 100 languages including American Sign Language.

 

Library Catalogs

 

Local History & Genealogy

  • America's Genealogy Bank - Over 300 years of historical newspapers (incl. obituaries), books, pamphlets and government reports
  • Ancestry Library Edition  - Over 4,000 genealogical databases and census records, [Available from home with valid Library card through September 30, 2021]
  • eBlack Champaign-Urbana - Repository for local African-American culture and history. Users are encouraged to contribute their stories and photographs
  • FamilySearch - Online access to FamilySearch’s image collections that contains billions of birth, marriage, death, census, land, and court records from over 130 countries [expanded access is available in-library use only].
  • Findmypast - A UK-based genealogy database that offers British and Irish parish records, censuses, passenger lists, birth, marriage, death, and military records. Findmypast also provides access to British and Irish newspapers, and is home to PERSI (the PERiodical Source Index), the largest index to genealogy and local history magazines, newsletters, and journals.
  • Fold3 - Over 46,000,000 historical documents and photos
  • HeritageQuest - Federal census records and more
  • Illinois Digital Newspaper Collections - Over 100 newspaper titles and trade journals, including the Daily Illini (1874-1975), The Champaign County News (1903-1916), The Champaign Daily News (1895-1919), Urbana Daily Courier (1903-1935)
  • Illinois State Archives - Illinois birth, death, marriage, and veterans records
  • Local History Online Catalog - Local history and genealogy resources at the Champaign County Historical Archives of The Urbana Free Library
  • My Heritage, Library Edition - World-wide historical & public records, family tree profiles, USA Federal Census (1790-1940), and much more.
  • News-Gazette - Full-text articles of local news, from June 1997 to October 13, 2019
  • Newspapers.com - World Collection (by Ancestry) - The largest online newspaper archive. 12,100+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s. Millions of additional pages added every month.

 

Local Interest

 

Magazine & Newspaper Articles

 

By using these services, you may be subject to their individual Terms of Service. If you have any questions about this, please contact us at reference@urbanafree.org.