Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall operations and service of The Urbana Free Library, including budget, policy, and planning. Trustees are appointed by the Mayor and are confirmed by the City Council. All Trustees serve 3-year alternating terms.

The Board of Trustees meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. (starting time and location of the meeting may vary; check the monthly board agenda) in the Lewis Auditorium at the Library. Meetings are open to the public. Please join us!

Chris Scherer, President

217-367-0038
cscherer@urbanafree.org
Appointed: July 1999
Term Expires: June 30, 2020

 

 

Beth Scheid, Vice-President

217-384-4966
bscheid@urbanafree.org
Appointed: June 2000
Term Expires: June 30, 2022

 

 

Barb  Bennett, Secretary/Treasurer

956-793-1162
bbennett@urbanafree.org
Appointed: December 2017
Term Expires: June 30, 2020

 

 

Barbara Jones, Secretary pro tempore

860-575-4625
bjones@urbanafree.org
Appointed: August 2016
Term Expires: June 30, 2022

 

 

Guadalupe A. Mejia

502-287-2451
gmejia@urbanafree.org
Appointed: May 2019
Term Expires: June 30, 2021

 

 

Shirese Hursey

217-721-4176
shursey@urbanafree.org
Appointed: April 2019
Term Expires: June 30, 2022

 

 

John Thies

217-367-1126
jthies@urbanafree.org
Appointed: July 2018
Term Expires: June 30, 2021

 

 

Michael Weissman

217-898-6238
mweissman@urbanafree.org
Appointed: October 2015
Term Expires: June 30, 2021

 

 

Jane Williams

217-328-5419
jwilliams@urbanafree.org
Appointed: July 1996
Term Expires: June 30, 2020