Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall operations and service of The Urbana Free Library, including budget, policy, and planning. Trustees are appointed by the Mayor and are confirmed by the City Council. All Trustees serve 3-year alternating terms.

The Board of Trustees meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Lewis Auditorium at the Library or via Zoom. Meetings are open to the public. Starting times and locations of the meetings may vary; check the monthly board agendas. Please also check the Board packets page or the Committee Meetings page for the Zoom links located in each Agenda if the meeting will be available via Zoom. You will also find public participation information. Please join us!

 

John Thies, President

217-367-1126
jthies@urbanafree.org
Appointed: July 2018
Term Expires: June 30, 2021

 

 

Beth Scheid, Vice-President

217-384-4966
bscheid@urbanafree.org
Appointed: June 2000
Term Expires: June 30, 2022

 

 

Barb Bennett, Secretary/Treasurer
Nominating Committee

956-793-1162
bbennett@urbanafree.org
Appointed: December 2017
Term Expires: June 30, 2023

 

Gloria Yen

217-337-1514
gyen@urbanafree.org
Appointed: November 2020
Term Expires: June 30, 2022

 

 

Guadalupe A. Mejia

502-287-2451
gmejia@urbanafree.org
Appointed: May 2019
Term Expires: June 30, 2021

 

 

Shirese Hursey

217-721-4176
shursey@urbanafree.org
Appointed: April 2019
Term Expires: June 30, 2022

 

 

Michael Weissman
Nominating Committee

217-898-6238
mweissman@urbanafree.org
Appointed: October 2015
Term Expires: June 30, 2021

 

Jane Williams

217-328-5419
jwilliams@urbanafree.org
Appointed: July 1996
Term Expires: June 30, 2023

 

 

Mark Pelmore

 
mpelmore@urbanafree.org
Appointed: November 2020
Term Expires: June 30, 2023