Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / search

You are here

Children's Caldecott and Newbery Award Winners

cover image of The One and Only Ivancover image of This Is Not My HatHooray! The Award Winning books are here! The American Library Association announced today the 2013 Caldecott and Newbery Award Winners and Honor Books.


The winner of the 2013 Caldecott Award is : "This Is Not My Hat" by Jon Klassen. The Caldecott Award is given annually for the most distinguished American picture book. Several Caldecott Honor Books were also named today. The Caldecott Honor Books are : "Creepy Carrots", "Extra Yarn", "Green", "One Cool Friend", and "Sleep Like a Tiger". 

The winner of the 2013 Newbery Award is : "The One and Only Ivan" by Katherine Applegate. The Newbery Award is given annually for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature. Three Newbery Honor Books were also announced today. These are : "Splendors and Glooms", "Bomb: The Race to Build - and Steal - the World's Most Dangerous Weapon", and "Three Times Lucky". 

The Urbana Free Library Children's Department has all of these Award Winning Books, and we have ordered extra copies of each of them (that will arrive and be available soon). In addition, from the Urbana Free Library's Homepage, click on Search CU Catalog, and  immediately, you will see 2013 Youth Media Award Winners (which include the Caldecott and Newbery Award Winners and Honor Books and more). Also, click on Quick Picks, then ALA Youth Media Awards, and the full list of award books with call numbers will come up. So, come to the Urbana Free LIbrary, and check out these great books!      Janet R.

Search CU Catalog

Calendar of Events